Environments

Safely work on isolated instances of your project with environments. Environments are for making changes to your GraphQL schema, and testing out new content types without breaking your production implementation, not to be used for editorial workflows.

Depending on your current user role, and payment plan, you can manage your environments from your project settings.

Create an environmentAnchor

  1. Navigate to the Settings tab in the left-hand sidebar in the lower group of icons.
  2. Select "Environments" in the contextual.
  3. Press "Clone" on the Master Environment.
  4. Provide a display name, an environment alias (created automatically if not provided) and toggle whether you'd like to include the content from the master environment.

Users, Roles & Permissions, Permanent Auth Tokens, and billing will not be cloned between projects.

Switching environmentsAnchor

You'll first need an additional environment to switch. Once you've more than one, click the "forking" icon in the sidebar, below your project icon. From here you can switch environments.

Environment endpointsAnchor

Each environment has its own API endpoint, with the alias of the environment appended to the URL.

API endpoints for both master and dev environments would follow the format of:

Promoting environmentsAnchor

When you have made the necessary changes to a schema you want to promote to the master environment, you can do this by renaming the newly created environment to be master, overriting the existing master to be named something else.

Since environments contain their own content, and webhooks, you will want to make sure you clone a new environment right before you apply the changes and promote, this ensures no loss of data.

For projects with multiple users managing content at the same time you make changes to the schema inside an environment, you will probably want to use the Management SDK.

Delete an environmentAnchor

  1. Navigate to the Settings tab in the left-hand sidebar in the lower group of icons.
  2. Select "Environments" in the contextual.
  3. Find the environment you want to delete.
  4. Press the delete button on the environment and confirm you want to delete.

Did you find this page useful?

Your feedback helps us improve our docs, and product.