Content Stages

Content stages allow you to work with copies of your content for a flexible and powerful content workflow. All content starts in the DRAFT stage and can then be published (creating a copy of that content) onto the PUBLISHED stage. You can continue to evolve your content on DRAFT without altering your PUBLISHED content.

For information on working with multiple content stages, see below.

Working with Content Stages

Publishing content to the PUBLISHED content stage

  1. Open a content entry you'd like to publish.
  2. In the contextual sidebar on the right-hand side, click "Publish"
    If this is a new content entry, the button will be called "Save and Publish"
  3. In the contextual menu there is now a box called "Available in stages" with the "Published" prefix and a date stamp of publication.

If you have additional stages enabled, you will be presented with a dropdown to choose which stage you want to publish to.

Evolving content in DRAFT

With content saved in the PUBLISHED content stage, you can modify any content in the entry and press the "Save" button in the contextual menu to update the DRAFT copy. PUBLISHED will only be modified when pressing the "Publish" button.

Unpublishing content from the PUBLISHED content stage

  1. Open a content entry you'd like to unpublish.
  2. In the contextual sidebar on the right-hand side, find the box labeled "Available in stages".
  3. Click the trash icon next to the content entry and confirm to unpublish from the content stage.

Compare PUBLISHED and DRAFT content stages

  1. Open a content entry you'd like to compare.
  2. In the contextual sidebar on the right-hand side, find the box labeled "Available in stages".
  3. Click on the alternating arrow icon next to the content entry in the PUBLISHED content stage.
  4. A split pane window will appear comparing the content in the two stages. An arrow will appear next to the right-hand comparison, the PUBLISHED content stage. You can revert to this content by pressing the arrow next to the field you want to revert to.

Syncing Content Between Draft and other Stages

In the sidebar card of the stage where your content exists, there is a button at the bottom that says "sync content with stage" - this lets you sync your content between the two stages, it effectively publishes to that stage with the previous chosen publish settings applied (locale preference, etc).

Creating Additional Stages

Multiple stages is available in Growth plans and higher.

Consistent with the "Draft to Published" workflow, additional stages act as additional "publishing targets" that you can publish to from Draft. Content is always modified in the Draft stage and can be published to either of the additional stages.

Consider the example of a QA approval flow. The editor creates content in Draft, publishes to a stage called Quality Assurance and finally publishes again to Published after approval.

In the near future we'll release the ability to publish independently between stages as well, which will allow a flow of QA to Published.

Adding Additional Stages

  1. Navigate to your project settings.
  2. Open the Content Stages tab.
  3. Press "Add Stage" at the bottom of the list of stages.
  4. Provide the Display name, API ID, a Color for the label and Description in the modal.
  5. Press create.

Editing a Content Stage

  1. Navigate to the content stage you want to edit.
  2. Press "edit" in the lower left corner of the stage card.
  3. Press "update" in the lower right corner of the card.

Delete a Content Stage

  1. Navigate to the content stage card you want to delete.
  2. Press "delete" and confirm your choice.

Were you expecting something more?

We are constantly contributing to our documentation, but if you spot something we're missing, let us know and we'll be sure to add it.

This site uses cookies to provide you with a better user experience. For more information, refer to our Privacy Policy