Working with Content Stages

Jesse Martin
Jesse Martin

July 13, 2020

Content stages allow you to work with copies of your content for a flexible and powerful content workflow.

All content starts in the DRAFT stage and can then be published (creating a copy of that content) onto the PUBLISHED stage.

You can continue to evolve your content on DRAFT without altering your PUBLISHED content.

Publishing to the PUBLISHED content stage

  1. Open a content entry you'd like to publish.
  2. In the contextual sidebar on the right-hand side, click "Publish" If this is a new content entry, the button will be called "Save and Publish".
  3. In the contextual menu there is now a box called "Available in stages" with the "Published" prefix and a date stamp of publication.
If you have additional stages enabled, you will be presented with a dropdown to choose which stage you want to publish to.

Evolving content in DRAFT

With content saved in the PUBLISHED content stage, you can modify any content in the entry and press the "Save" button in the contextual menu to update the DRAFT copy. PUBLISHED will only be modified when pressing the "Publish" button.

Unpublishing from the PUBLISHED content stage

  1. Open a content entry you'd like to unpublish.
  2. In the contextual sidebar on the right-hand side, find the box labeled "Available in stages".
  3. Click the trash icon next to the content entry and confirm to unpublish from the content stage.

Compare content stages

  1. Open a content entry you'd like to compare.
  2. In the contextual sidebar on the right-hand side, find the box labeled "Available in stages".
  3. Click on the alternating arrow icon next to the content entry in the PUBLISHED content stage.
  4. A split pane window will appear comparing the content in the two stages. An arrow will appear next to the right-hand comparison, the PUBLISHED content stage. You can revert to this content by pressing the arrow next to the field you want to revert to.

Syncing between Draft and other stages

In the sidebar card of the stage where your content exists, there is a button at the bottom that says "sync content with stage" - this lets you sync your content between the two stages, it effectively publishes to that stage with the previous chosen publish settings applied (locale preference, etc).


It's Easy To Get Started

GraphCMS plans are flexibly suited to accommodate your growth. Get started for free, or reach out to our sales team to discuss larger projects with more complex needs